HOMETOURISMRELOCATIONBUSINESSLOCAL
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Old Town Florence Oregon
 

 

Florence was originally inhabited by the Siuslaw Indians, Europeans first arriving in this region when Spanish galleons sailed off the coast, charting the territory. Years later, on his northwest voyage, the famous English seaman Captain Cook explored the Oregon coastline, giving names to many present landmarks, such as Cape Perpetua, named for the Holy Day on which it was first seen.  Legend has it that Florence, Oregon was named after a French sailing vessel that went aground near the mouth of the Siuslaw River. The plank washed ashore and was hung above the Safley Hotel which then became the Florence Hotel and became the town's chosen name when the post office was established.  The Hudson Bay Traders arrived in 1826.  After many years of trading and fishing, the first cannery was established in 1876.  By 1883, the town had a population of 200 with two stores, a hotel and a salmon cannery.

 

1.      1155 Bay St. (The Edwin K) built in 1914 by the son of William Kyle.

10.    1240 Bay St.  original Bill's Auto built in 1926. Siuslaw Coffee Roasters

23.    1295 Bay St. (Bridgewater) original mercantile

26.     Gazebo Park and dock, sit and relax in the charming gazebo, or watch the river flow by from the dock.

40.     1350 Bay St.  see live honey bees busy making their tasty nectar just for you!

41.     1377 Bay St. The Harbor Theater, built in 1930's, now On Your Feet Footware.

110.   180 Laurel St. built in 1910 for the children of William Kyle, Jr.

84.     128 Maple St. (Captain's Lady Trading Co.) built in 1906, original phone company building.

87.     216 Maple St.  (Johnson House) built in 1892, this is the oldest existing house in Florence

93.     Laurel & 1st   Fly Fishing Museum contains a collection of thousands of hand-tied flies dating back to the 1800's and collected from over 20 countries.  In addition, this fascinating private   fishing collection also includes beautiful paintings and carvings.        

94.     278 Maple St, Siuslaw Pioneer Museum  Built in 1905, the original schoolhouse of  Florence and served in that capacity until 1946.  It was then used as the Callison Greenhouse until 1989.  

120.    Old Town Boardwalk, buy fresh fish in season and enjoy a walk on the new Boardwalk overlooking the Florence fishing docks.

 


 

 

Attractions

Entertainment

Recreation

Lodging

Camping
Real Estate
Shopping
Specials
Dining
TV Listings
Eugene Springfield

SEE US IN:

 

 

 

 

 

Lodging | Camping | Dining | Real Estate | Shopping | Specials
contact us      advertising       web sites      oregon coast

Comments, Questions or Suggestions? Contact Us
Copyright 1997 by Pacific101. All rights reserved.
Revised: 01 Mar 2009 13:22:08 - 0700

.Pacific 101 Web Site Design. 1998-99 all rights reserved